B&W Film ~Documentary~

Our final project was to take a series of 10-12 photos related to an issue we care about.
Being a psychology major, I decided to do a self-image project.

I asked my brother, my daughter, and my husband to participate.
I couldn’t manage to get my teen involved, so I did self-portraits as well.

I asked each of them to consider how they see themselves and how they think other people see them. In my case, it was how they said they see me.

Miss Margaret sees herself as weird.

She believes people simply think she’s shy.

I see her a sweet, innocent, and beautiful little girl.

My brother sees himself as a family man.

He believes that other people see him as either big and intimidating or a big teddy bear.

I see my brother as a reliable, easy-going, big/little brother.

My husband sees himself as a friendly guy.

He believes that others see him as a redneck.

I see my husband as a loving, compassionate, and tender.

I see myself as a nerd. Frizzy hair, glasses, and big books included.
(In fact, I embrace the title.  I love to learn!)

I believe other people don’t see me, that I am effectively invisible.

My brother, husband, and daughter all agreed that they see me as a smiley person.

*****

So there it is. 
I did well on my final project.
If I would have added the text for the class, it would have been perfect.

I learned a lot.
Not only did I learn about how to develop film and prints, but I learned how to slow down.
I appreciate the lesson and I plan to slow down digitally too.

Hugs and stuff,
Kat

2 thoughts on “B&W Film ~Documentary~

  1. Very well done Kat. Some day I would love to meet you and Chris for dinner.
    These photos and very well done. I love that you have embraced the camera.

    Love you,
    Chrissy

  2. Kat, You have a great command of speech and direction in your life. I know that there will be pit-falls from time to time.you have the strength and resilience to bring it all together and move on to the next step in your life. Who would think that I would be retired at age 40. But I don’t sit still and let my mind wonder. I have been sitting on the sidelines for a little bit. My main focus lately has been in Mental Health. So don’t worry about small detours in your life. I have faith that you will accomplish what you set your mind to.

Thoughts, questions or comments?

