You Made a Difference in My Life ~Grandma~

The-Gratitude-Project_thumb.jpg

This is the fourth installment of The Gratitude Project.
I am thanking people who made a difference in my life.
People who helped create who I am.

This week, I am celebrating my grandma.
She is one of my favorite people in the world.

130-1

*****

Dear Grandma,

Whenever I’m asked who I admire the most, I always think of you first. There are so many reasons that they’re actually a bit hard to list. That’s why I named both my girls after you; I’m hoping that your name will rub off on who they become.

I have always known how lucky I am to have a grandma who loves me and is always there when I need her. I have so many great memories that I pray I never lose. Like when you would make grilled cheese and tomato soup when I was sick. You’d bring it to me on a tray so I could lie on the couch in the den and watch TV while I ate. I remember always how you smell and I love the way you laugh.

The more I learn about you, the more I admire you. I admire your faith, patience and generosity. You have shown me how to pick up and move on when life gets tough. You taught me that there is no point to having things if you can’t share them. I think the greatest lesson I’ve learned from you is unconditional love and support. I can only imagine how hard it has been to support me at times over the years, but you were always ready to lend an ear when I called.

You have taught me that I don’t have to have all the answers. Sometimes you just have to keep putting one foot in front of the other. It’s okay to “fake it ‘till you make it”. Thank you for your unfailing honesty.

You are an amazing woman and I hope that I can make you proud.

I love you always,
Katrina

One thought on “You Made a Difference in My Life ~Grandma~

Thoughts, questions or comments?

