You Made a Difference in My Life ~Jon~

The-Gratitude-Project_thumb.jpg

This is the second installment of The Gratitude Project.
I am thanking people who made a difference in my life.
People who helped create who I am.

This week, I am thanking my friend Jon for his influence on my life.
He was my boyfriend in high school and my friend ever since.

Jon Eshin Gibson
Source

*****

Dear Jon,

When we met, I knew you only as Big Jon. You were this big football player that was friends with some of my friends. We became friends and soon after, began our real relationship. You became my first love, my best friend, and my personal champion.

You helped me see horror movies in a different way. Do you remember when we watched The Shining with Joel? You had me laughing through half the movie. I watch horror movies and laugh now. You introduced me to new music and taught me to keep an open mind about music. I am happy to say I have an eclectic taste in music. Being a jock and a computer nerd, you showed me how to be myself, and not worry about other people’s opinions.

I wish I could have seen myself the way you saw me. You made such a positive impact on my life. Whenever I doubted myself, you assured me that I was smart, strong, and intelligent. Whenever I needed a shoulder to cry on, you were there to offer me yours. You reminded me time after time that I could rise above my circumstances.

You also taught me that there are different kinds of love. Love for family, love for friends, and love for lovers. It has helped me make some essential choices.

Thank you for everything you have taught me over the years. It means the world to me that when I called you after not talking for a couple years, you made room in your schedule to help me with my physics homework when I asked. That makes you a true friend. Please don’t ever forget that you are awesome and you are loved.

Always,
Katrina

One thought on “You Made a Difference in My Life ~Jon~

Thoughts, questions or comments?

