Kennedy School Walk-About

McMenamin’s Kennedy School is an amazing old school building full of awesome.
They show movies, have restaurants, bars, and a soaking pool.
There’s other features there as well.
You can check them all out here if you’re interested in learning more.

There is also lots of art all over the building.
Angie and I walked all around just looking at it all and occasionally marveling at the dates on some of them.
I took pictures of some of the ones that caught my eye.
(Please don’t critique the photography itself today. I just wanted to capture the essence of the artwork.)

DSC_0281
They have random doors and mantles mounted on the walls here and there.
Check out the details.
DSC_0280

DSC_0282
There were some beautiful mosaics.
Most of them had a hidden little feature.
This one had some pictures under the glass.
DSC_0283

DSC_0315
This one, made in 1933, says:
I love you little/ I love you big/ I love you like a little pig.
Love it.
DSC_0316

DSC_0317
This one is so pretty.
It looks like this one was written in 1935.  It says:
There was a young fellow named Hall/ He fell in the spring in the Fall/ It would be a sad thing/ If he died in the Spring/ but he didn’t, he died in the fall.
DSC_0318

DSC_0286
They had also framed some of the pictures from newspaper articles.

DSC_0287
Tolkien’s birthday.

DSC_0289
Random wall decoration above one of the bars I think.

DSC_0292

The skylights had different kinds of mosaics.

DSC_0291
This is one of my favorites.
The yellow book on the lower right reads:
Kennedy Book Fair 1966.
Those book-worms are too cute!

DSC_0294
The story behind this piece eludes me.
There are four men in a boat (or maybe a shell?) in the ocean.
I feel like I should know what it is illustrating.
Do you?

DSC_0296
I find this one really interesting.
Between the girls’ hair and dress, they almost look like old ladies, but obviously aren’t.

DSC_0299
These are awesome.
They feature images representing 3 letters of the alphabet.
This one has a dragon, egg, and fairy.

DSC_0397
This one has ants, butterflies and a bee, and a cat.

DSC_0398
This one reminds me of Alice in Wonderland.
It has peonies, a rabbit, and a queen.

DSC_0306
The writing on the wall caught my eye, but the hall was too narrow for me to capture it all at once.
Kennedy School
It reads:
Inspiration, move me brightly. Light the song with sense and color, hold away despair. More time than this I will not ask.

DSC_0308
All along the walls right below the ceilings were these decorations.
At first I thought they were painted on.
DSC_0307
They’re actually mosaics.

DSC_0309
This was another one of my favorites.
Not because of he picture itself, but what was under it.
DSC_0312
Cool right?
It speaks to my crafter’s heart.
And my (not-so) inner nerd.

DSC_0313
I just think this one is funny.
The old men arguing about croquet is awesome.

DSC_0325
Finally, this fire pit sits in the middle of the courtyard in front of the building.
DSC_0324
I don’t know exactly why I like it, but I really do.

Have a great weekend all.

image

 

 

 

One thought on “Kennedy School Walk-About

Thoughts, questions or comments?

