Patience vs. Tolerance

I’ve struggled with patience for years. 
(I used up my natural patience years ago.)
I’m pretty tolerant though. 

When I’m having a tough time, I pray (a lot) for patience. 
I’ve been told I should be praying for tolerance.
I stand by my declaration of a wish for patience and here’s why:

Patience is defined as the quality of being patient, as the bearing of provocation, annoyance, misfortune, or pain, without complaint, loss of temper, irritation, or the like.

Tolerance is defined as a fair, objective, and permissive attitude toward opinions and practices that differ from one’s own.

I have a 13 year old daughter.
Do I really need to explain further?

DSC_0018

Alright, just in case you’ve never had to deal with a teenaged girl, I’ll explain further.

Cute Meatball [;

I personally don’t believe that she has the right to have certain opinions or practices.
For example, inappropriate language or taking off whenever she desires.
She can have all the opinions she wants when she’s an adult.
Until then, I refuse to be “permissive”.

However, I fully believe that I could be more patient with her lack of adult experience, and therefore, her ignorance on the real life consequences of treating people in an inappropriate manner.
I can definitely not allow myself to be provoked  and improve upon my “loss of temper”.

051609115651
I can’t wait for the day I can take a picture like this with my firstborn.  I miss her.

I will continue to pray for patience for another four years or so.
Then maybe I’ll start praying for tolerance too.

 

image

2 thoughts on “Patience vs. Tolerance

Thoughts, questions or comments?

