My DIY Camera Strap

You know I love my Nikon.
I don’t, however, love my standard Nikon camera strap.
It does the job just fine but it doesn’t appeal to my fashion sense at all.
So I decided to make my own.

Keep in mind, I know my way around a sewing machine, but I am by no means an expert (yet).  I made this up as I went along.

I had some fabric left over from a skirt I made recently.
I took some measurements and cut my fabric accordingly.
I also cut out some pieces for a couple flowers, found a couple complimentary ribbons, and some buttons.

DSC_0140

I started by ironing all the pieces.
This, for me, is an essential step.

DSC_0143

I took the thin strips and ironed them in half lengthwise.DSC_0144

I kept the right-side on the inside.

DSC_0145

I sewed a simple straight stitch down the open side.

DSC_0146

This made a long inside-out tube.

DSC_0147

I fastened a safety pin to one end.

DSC_0148

Then I pushed the fabric up and over the safety pin.

DSC_0149

I really looked like a tube then.
I flattened it out with the seam going down the middle and ironed it again.
I repeated all that for the other thin strip.

DSC_0150

The next step was to start the neck strap.
Because I wanted it to be a little thicker than just the fabric, I sewed the white strip into it as well.
I sewed a straight stitch to attach the white strip to the right side of the the thick strip.

DSC_0154

Then I folded it into itself and sewed a strong, yet decorative stitch along the side.

DSC_0159

It’s so pretty.

DSC_0156

I lined up and pinned the ribbon along the other side.

DSC_0160

I then sewed another strong, yet decorative stitch to set it all.

DSC_0162

I took the small pieces of fabric and sewed them on two sides with a straight stitch, leaving one side open.

DSC_0164

I flipped it right side out and tucked in the raw edge about a 1/4”.

DSC_0165

I slipped it onto the unfinished end of the strap like a pillowcase.

DSC_0167

I sewed another straight stitch right across the open end.

DSC_0170

I layered the flower pieces on top of each other and attached a pretty button to the center.

DSC_0168

I put both flowers on one side, cause I like it that way.
I added a button to the back of the dark fabric so that I could fold the thin strap around and attach it.

DSC_0175

I think it looks so cute.
So much better than the generic strap.

The fabric that I used was little thin, so the next one will have a stronger core.
I was thinking I’d use some nylon or at least a thicker fabric. 
This one, for now is for when I’m hanging with friends and/or family and rarely wear the strap.

image

Thoughts, questions or comments?

