Mom’s Mushroom Pasta

This is actually my guy’s mom’s recipe.
She used to make it for him often as a kid.

I photographed two recipes last night.
My guy made this one while I made some chicken.
(I’ll post that one tomorrow.)

When my guy first made this for me, I was very skeptical.
But trust me, if you like mushrooms at all, you will love this.

021

The ingredients: milk, butter, mushrooms, cream of mushroom soup, and vermicelli pasta.

059

Start by boiling a pot of water.
And then start melting a pat of butter.

063
Then slice some mushrooms and toss them into the melted butter to sauté.

067
My guy was teaching Miss Margaret how to slice mushrooms.
I love the contrast of her soft little arms and his big muscled arms.
It was a very full kitchen with three of us working in there.

071

While the mushrooms are sautéing, place the pasta into the boiling water.

075

Don’t those mushrooms look yummy?
Oh. how I love thee sautéed mushrooms.

083

Once the pasta is done, dump it into the strainer and pour the mushrooms, juice and all, over the pasta to flavor it just a bit.
Let them sit a bit while you make the sauce.

078

  (We used the pasta pot to have one less dish to clean afterwards.)
Start the sauce with a pat of butter.

079

Pour in some milk.

082

You need just enough to cover the bottom of a medium size pot.

085

Add the cream of mushroom soup.

089

Stir and heat it up.

090

Once heated, pour the pasta and mushrooms in.

093

Mix it all up and it’s ready to serve.

101

This is Miss Margaret’s plate.
She’s not too big on mushrooms (yet) but tried some of the pasta anyway and like it.
She also had some crushed pineapple and two different versions of tomorrow’s chicken recipe.

I hope you enjoy it too.

 

Hugs and stuff,
Kat

One thought on “Mom’s Mushroom Pasta

  1. You are becoming quite the cook my daughter. Photographer too!! I am so happy to see your man teaching a granddaughter how to cook as well. No doubt in my mind that you have also been teaching her.

    With Love,
    Chrissy

Thoughts, questions or comments?

