Meatball soup

My boyfriend and I had lunch at his mom’s house one weekend and she made leftover soup for lunch.

It had meatballs in it, which I thought was weird, but oddly good.

I asked her how she made it and she gave me a quick lesson in soup making.

This recipe is what I went home and created.

My boyfriend liked it so much he had me make it again the next night.

He requested some again for dinner this week, so I thought I’d share it with you to try too.

First, you need to make some meatballs.  My meatballs, like most of my recipes, differ almost every time.
I would suggest using your favorite meatball recipe.

While the meatballs are cooking, you can start chopping.

Mushrooms.  The more the better in my house.

Next is the bell peppers.
Usually, I just use red or maybe orange, but I used green too this time.
Which peppers you use, are up to your taste.  Personally, recommend the red ones.

Now, here’s all the ingredients:  vegetable broth, flour, parmesan cheese, olive oil, minced garlic…

…chopped onions, peppers, and don’t forget the meatballs.

First you toss some olive oil in the warm pan and then saute the onions and garlic.

Once the onions start to lose color, toss the bell peppers in.

Then finally add the mushrooms.

Now, we’re going to add some flour.  Just sprinkle it all over the veggies.

Mix and stir in the flour until it forms a thick paste-like texture.

Add about 1/4 to 1/2 cup of broth and mix it up.

This should make a gravy that looks a bit like evaporated milk.
It’s good.  Trust me.

 Now, let it simmer for about 10 min.

Because, I made a double batch here, I had to move it to the BIG pot.
Time to add the broth and some seasonings.  Italian seasonings and pepper are a good choice.

Add your meatballs to the soup, but be careful not to splash.

Looking good huh?  Get the soup to boil and leave it for 30 minutes.

I like to add some whipping cream (heavy cream) to make it, well, creamier.

The oil from sauteing the veggies will float to the top, but it mixes right back in.
You could skim it if you want, but I think it adds to the taste.

Soup’s on!

I recommend some crusty bread to dip in the soup.

**************

I didn’t include any measurements because I rarely use them.  I might use them as a starting point, but one of my favorite things about cooking, is that my food is never the same twice.

Add what sounds good to you.  If you like green beans, add them.  You don’t like onions? Leave ’em out.
It’s all up to you my friend.

Enjoy your time in the kitchen.

Hugs and stuff,
Kat

2 thoughts on “Meatball soup

Thoughts, questions or comments?

