My cameras

Since I plan on featuring my pictures in this blog, I figured I should share what I’m taking these pictures with.  It is a good idea to have a back-up camera in case something happens to one of them (like kids playing and setting them “somewhere”).  I happen to have three cameras.  My cell phone camera, my point and shoot, and my brand new DSLR.  I’ll go over each and their specs.  The pictures I’m including today aren’t my own.  Sorry, but I’m on bed rest recovering from surgery and haven’t been able to take new pictures.  So here we go…

First, the cell phone.  It’s a Huawei Ascend.  It has a 3.2 megapixel fixed focus camera.  I also use the FxCamera app for fun features that include ToyCam (toy camera emulator), Polandroid (polaroid for androids), Fisheye (bubble view), SymmetriCam (mirror images), and Warhol (AndyWarholizer).  The app is just for fun.  The girls love it.

The cell phone

 Next up is the digital point and shoot.  It’s 7.2 megapixel Sony Cyber-shot.  It has a traditional eye-level viewfinder with a large (2.5″) LCD screen.  It also takes videos (which the girls totally love).  The features include a 3x optical zoom, blur-reduction and a fair internal memory for shooting when the memory card got full (not that that would ever happen).  I’ve had this one for years and it’s done it’s job well.  Occasionally, I will pick up Bea’s camera which is a 12.1 megapixel Cyber-shot. Of course, that’s only when she’s not home and I can’t find mine.  Or if I want to play with the smile shutter feature (which won’t take the picture until the subject is smiling – so fun).

The point and shoot

Finally, there is my newest baby the DSLR.  I have been wanting one for years and researched quite a bit before I bought this gem.  It is a Nikon D3100. It has 14.2 megapixels with a maximum ISO of 3200 which is expandable to an ISO of 12800 if I use the Hi 2 setting (which I haven’t figured out just yet). It can also take full HD videos.  It has a 3″ LCD screen and of course has interchangable lenses.  I only have one lense right now but I am looking forward to getting more as I learn. 

The DSLR

I have always loved photography and I can’t wait to learn more about my newest camera.  Next on the list of things to buy is the UnManual.  I read several photography blogs and it comes highly recommended.  I think (and hope) that it’ll make learning not only easier, but more enjoyable as well.  Until then, I’m just going to enjoy how wonderful my pictures are turning out using the auto setting.

Hugs and stuff,
Kat

3 thoughts on “My cameras

  1. hi Katrina, I love the new camera. Take more picts of you and the grandchildren and post them, including Amira if you can.
    love , Mom & Jim

Thoughts, questions or comments?

